Bye Election to Chittoor Legislative Council

Image result for election commission of india

Biennial Elections to the Maharashtra Legislative Council from six Local Authorities Constituencies and bye election to Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council from Chittoor Local Authorities’ Constituency-reg 

 The Commission has decided to hold Biennial Election to the Maharashtra Legislative Council from said Local Authorities Constituencies and a bye election to Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council from Chittoor Local Authorities’ Constituency, in accordance with the following programme: -

Events Days and Dates
1 Issue of Notifications : 26th April, 2018 (Thursday)
2 Last date of making nominations  : 3rd May, 2018 (Thursday)
3 Scrutiny of nominations  : 4th May, 2018 (Friday))
4 Last date for withdrawal of candidatures  : 7th May, 2018 (Monday)
5 Date of poll  : 21st May, 2018 (Monday)
6 Hours of poll   : 8.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M
7 Counting of Votes  : 24th May, 2018 (Thursday)
8 Date before which election shall be completed  : 29th May, 2018 (Tuesday)

The term of office of six (6) members of the Maharashtra Legislative Council from six (6) Local Authorities’ Constituencies is due to expire on 31st May, 2018 and 21st June, 2018 as per details given below:

S.No Name of the Member Name of Local Authorities’ Constituency Date of Retirement
1.Anil Dattatrey Tatkare  Raigad-cum-Ratnagiri-cum-Sindhudurg 31.05.2018
2.Jadhav Jaywantrao Pundlikrao   Nashik  21.06.2018
3.Bhangdiya Mitesh Gotulal   Wardha-cum-Chandrapur-cum-Gadchiroli 21.06.2018
4.Abdullah Khan A. Latif Khan Durrani  Parbhani-cum-Hingoli   21.06.2018
5.Pravin Ramchandraji Pote   Amravati  21.06.2018
6.Deshmukh Dileeprao Dagdojirao  Osmanabad-cum-Latur-cum-Beed 21.06.2018

A casual vacancy has occurred in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council. The details of the vacancy are given below:

Sl. No. Name of Member Name of Constituency Date of Retirement Remarks
1 Gali Muddukrishnama Naidu  Chittoor Local Authorities’ Constituency 11.08.2021  Death on 07.02.2018

       The term of office of the members to be elected to the above Legislative Council from the said Local Authorities’ Constituencies shall be subject to the decision of the Hon’ble Supreme Court in SLP(C) No. 17123/2015 (Election Commission of India Vs Devesh Chandra Thakur & Others); 

5.  The Model Code of Conduct will come into force with immediate effect. Please see the details in Commission’s website under link.


Election Commission of India issues Notification in respect of extension of hours of Poll in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly Election 

No. 464/KT-LA/2018:- Whereas, the Governor of the State of Karnataka has, by Notification issued under sub-section (2) of section 15 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), published in the official Gazette of the State on the 17th April,2018  (Tuesday), been pleased to call upon all the Assembly Constituencies in the State of Karnataka, to elect members to the Legislative Assembly of the State, in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made there under:

Whereas, the Commission has, under Section 56 of the said Act notified hours of poll from 7.00 am to 5.00 pm as the hours of poll during which the poll shall be taken in all the assembly constituencies of the state; and

Whereas, the Commission considers that in view of the extreme heat in the State of Karnataka at present and also due to the introduction of VVPAT, it is necessary to extend the hours of poll to facilitate all the voters to cast their votes even in the late hours.

Now, therefore, the Election Commission of India in pursuance of section 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 read with Section 21 of the General Clauses Act, 1897 (10 of 1897),  hereby makes the following amendments in its notification No.464/KT-LA/2018, dated 17th April, 2018,  namely :-

Clause (B) of the said notification shall be substituted as under:

"(B)     fixes the hours from 7.00 A.M. to 6.00 P.M. as the hours during which the poll shall,  if necessary, be taken on the date specified above, for the election."

No comments

Powered by Blogger.