New Policies for Health Sector

Image result for New Policies for Health Sector

New Policies for Health Sector
The Government has formulated the National Health Policy, 2017, which aims at attainment of the highest possible level of good health and well-being, through a preventive and promotive health care orientation in all developmental policies, and universal access to good quality health care services without anyone having to face financial hardship as a consequence. The National Health Policy, 2017 is available at default/ files/9147562941489753121.Pdf

The Government has also devised various new initiatives on health sector which are given below:
New Initiatives in Health Sector
The Government has devised various new initiatives on health sector which inter-alia includes:

  1. Introduction of new vaccines
  2. Mission Indradhanush
  3. NHM Free Drug  and Diagnostics Initiatives
  4. Setting up of New AIIMS Institutions
  5. Upgradation of district hospitals to medical college hospitals.
  6. PradhanMantri National Dialysis Services Programme
  7. The Pradhan Mantri Surakshit Matritva Abhiyan (PMSMA)
  8. Senior Citizen Health Insurance Scheme (SCHIS)
  9. India Newborn Action Plan
  10. Biomedical Equipment Management & Maintenance Program (BMMP)
  11. MAA- Mother's Absolute Affection Programme
  12. Kayakalp initiative
  13. Affordable Medicines and Reliable Implants for Treatment (AMRIT) outlets
  14. Health and wellness centres to provide comprehensive primary healthcare.
  15. Universal Screening of Non-Communicable Diseases- Government of India launched Operational Guidelines on prevention, screening and control of common Non-Communicable Diseases: Hypertension, Diabetes and Common Cancer-Oral, Breast, Cervix.
  16. Scheme for strengthening of Drug Regulatory system in the country
  17. National Quality Assurance Programme, under which, Quality Standards for District Hospitals, Community Health Centres, Primary Health Centres and Urban Primary Health Centres have been formulated.
  1. New Mental Health Policy 2014 envisions promoting mental health, by providing accessible, affordable and quality health and social care to all persons with mental illness.
  2. Cartridge Based Nucleic Acid Amplification test (CB NAAT) specialized machines which enables accurate diagnosis of drug resistant TB within a few hours facilitating diagnosis and treatment of Drug Resistant TB have been set up in 628 districts.
  3. Daily regimen for treatment of TB has been rolled out in five States. This will significantly improve treatment compliance. 
  4. E-governance system (SUGAM) has been introduced in CDSCO for online processing of applications, linking of CDSCO HQ with other offices, laboratories, and for maintenance of database to promote ease of doing business.
  5. New medical device Rules have been framed and published to provide separate legal framework for regulation of medical devices. The new Rules will facilitate expeditious approval of medical devices.
  6. E-health initiatives such as Kilkari, Mobile Academy, ANM On Line (ANMOL), Mera Aspataal, e-hospital, e-rakthkosh, etc., have been rolled out.


Authorisation to Sign Pathology Report
As per clause (c) of sub-section (2) of Section 15 of IMC Act, 1956, no person other than a doctor having qualification recognized by MCI and registered with MCI/State Medical Council(s) is allowed to practice modern system of medicine or sign or authenticate a medical or fitness certificate or any other certificate required by any law to be signed. Further, Hon’ble Supreme Court of India vide order dated 12.12.2017 in the Special Leave to Appeal (Civil) No. 28529/2010 in the matter of North Gujarat Unit of Association of Self Employed Owners (Paramedical) of Private Pathology Laboratories of Gujarat Vs. North Gujarat Pathologists Association & Ors held that the stand of the Medical Council of India that Laboratory Report can be counter signed only by a registered medical practitioner with a post graduate qualification in pathology is correct”.

National Mental Health Programme 

The Government has supported the establishment of 23 Centres of Excellence under the National Mental Health Programme (NMHP) since initiation of Scheme, out of which 12 Centres of Excellence are sanctioned during the last three years. Details are given below:

State-wise list of 12 Centres of Excellence established during the last three years

S.No. State/UT Name of the Institute 
Madhya Pradesh Gwalior Mansik Arogyashala, Gwalior
MGM Medical College, Indore
Dr. RML Hospital, Delhi
Himachal Pradesh
Dr. Rajendra Prasad Govt. Medical College, Kangra, Tanda
S.P. Medical College, Bikaner
SMS Medical College, Jaipur
Dharwad Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences
Institute of Psychiatry and Human Behaviour, Bambolim
Uttar Pradesh
King George Medical University, Lucknow
Andhra Pradesh
Hospital for Mental Care, Vishakhapatnam
West Bengal
Department of Psychiatry, Calcutta Medical College
Institute of Mental Health, Amritsar

To address the acute shortage of qualified mental health professionals in the country, the Central Government, under the National Mental Health Programme (NMHP) is providing support for implementation of manpower development schemes by States/UTs for establishment of Centres of Excellence and strengthening/ establishment of Post Graduate (PG) Departments in mental health specialties.

Till date, support has been provided for establishment of 23 Centres of Excellence and strengthening/ establishment of 46 Post Graduate (PG) Departments in mental health specialties in the country. These schemes have resulted in increasing the availability of additional Human Resources in the field of mental health.


No comments

Powered by Blogger.