Election to the Office of the Vice-President, 2017

Election to the Office of the Vice-President, 2017 (15th Vice-Presidential Election)
The term of office of Mohd. Hamid Ansari, Vice-President of India, is up to 10th August 2017. An election to fill the vacancy to be caused by the expiration of the term of office of the outgoing Vice-President needs to be completed before the expiration of the term of the present incunbent. The law provides that the notification for election may be issued on, or as soon as conveniently may be after, the sixtieth day before the expiry of term of the office of the outgoing Vice-President.

2.  Article 324 of the Constitution read with the Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Act, 1952 and the Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Rules, 1974, vests the superintendence, direction and control of the conduct of election to the office of the Vice-President of India in the Election Commission of India. The Election Commission is mandated to ensure that the election to the office of the Vice-President of India must be a free and fair election. The Commission is taking all necessary steps for discharging the responsibility.

3.  The Vice-President is elected by the members of the Electoral College consisting of the members of both Houses of Parliament in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote. The nominated Members of Rajya Sabha  as well as  of Lok Sabha are also eligible to be included in the Electoral College and, therefore, are entitled to participate in the election.

4.  The Electoral College for the present election of the Vice-President consists of the following members:
Rajya Sabha:

Elected            =          233
Nominated      =          12

a)                  Lok Sabha:

Elected            =          543
Nominated      =          2

TOTAL           =          790     

5.  The Election Commission, in consultation with the Central Government, has decided to appoint the Secretary General to the Rajya Sabha as the Returning Officer for the election. The Commission has also decided to appoint Assistant Returning Officers from amongst the officers of the Rajya Sabha Secretariat to assist the Returning Officer.

6.  In pursuance of sub-section (1) of section (4) of the Presidential and Vice-Presidential Elections Act, 1952, the Election Commission of India has fixed the programme for the election to fill the office of the Vice-President of India as given below.

Issue of Election Commission’s notification calling the election
04.07.2017 (Tuesday)
Last date of making nominations
18.07.2017 (Tuesday)
Date for the Scrutiny of nominations
19.07.2017 (Wednesday)
Last date for the withdrawal of candidatures
21.07.2017 (Friday)
Date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken
05.08.2017 (Saturday)
Hours of poll
10.00 am to 5.00 pm
Date on which counting, if required, shall be taken
05.08.2017 (Saturday)

7.  The nomination paper of a candidate must be delivered to the Returning Officer at New Delhi at the place to be specified by him by a public notice either by the candidate or by any of his proposers or seconders between 11.00 a.m. and 3.00 p.m. A nomination paper of a candidate has to be subscribed by at least twenty electors as proposers and at least another twenty electors as seconders. An elector can subscribe to only one nomination paper of a candidate as either a proposer or seconder. The security deposit for the election is Rs. 15,000/- (Rupees fifteen thousand only), which is required to be made along with the nomination paper.

8.  The list of Members of the Electoral College maintained by the Commission for the Vice-Presidential Election, 2017  will be made available in English & Hindi separately, after publication, for sale @ Rs.50/ per copy from the counter opened in the premises of the Election Commission. Electoral College for the Vice-Presidential Election, 2017 is also available in the Commission’s web-site (http://www.eci.nic.in).

Election Commission of India
New Delhi: 29th June, 2017


Schedule for bye-elections to fill casual vacancies in the State Legislative Assemblies of Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland – reg.
There are following clear vacancies in State Legislative Assemblies of various States/UT, which need to be filled up:
Sl. No.
Name & No. of  Assembly Constituency
Arunachal Pradesh
12 – Pakke  Kessang (ST) AC
10-Northern Angami-I (ST) AC

After taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, electoral rolls, weather conditions etc., the Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill these vacancies as per the programme mentioned as under: -

Sl. No.


Issue of Notification

05.07.2017 (WED)

Last date of making      Nominations

12.07.2017 (WED)

Scrutiny of Nominations

13.07.2017 (THU)

Last date for withdrawal of candidatures

15.07.2017 (SAT)

Date of Poll

29.07.2017 (SAT)

Counting of Votes

03.08.2017 (THU)

Date before which election shall be completed

05.08.2017 (SAT)

Hours of Poll
07.00 AM to 4.00 PM

            The Electoral Roll for Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland with reference to  01.01.2017 has been finally published on 11.01.2017 and 10.01.2017 respectively. The bye-election in the States will be held with the existing rolls.
                        The Commission has decided to use EVMs in the bye-elections in all the polling stations. Adequate numbers of EVMs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.
                        In consonance with the past practice, the Commission has decided that the voter’s identification shall be mandatory in the aforementioned bye- elections at the time of poll. Electoral Photo Identity Cards (EPIC) shall be the main document ofidentification of a voter. However, in order to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the Electoral Rolls, separate instructions will be issued to allow additional documents for identification of voters at the time of poll in the said bye-elections.

                        The Model Code of Conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Parliamentary Constituency/Assembly Constituencies going for bye-elections is included, subject to partial modification as issued vide Commission’s instruction No. 437/INST/2012/CC&BE, dated 26th April, 2012 (available on the Commission’s website). The Model Code of Conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the State Governments concerned. The Model Code of Conduct shall also be applicable to the Union Government for the States concerned.

Election Commission of India
New Delhi: 29th June, 2017

No comments

Powered by Blogger.