Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections -2017

Facts at a Glance- Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections -2017

SECOND PHASE- Date of Poll 15.02.2017

S.No.Item Number of Assembly Constituencies going on poll-67
1.Total Electors
Male 12384449
Female 10493671
Third Gender 1065
Total 22879185

2.Total number of candidates 721
3.Total number of female candidates 82
4.No. & Name of the Assembly Constituency with maximum number of candidates 25- Kanth 28 Candidates
5.No. & Name of the Assembly Constituency with minimum number of candidates
39- Dhanaura
05 Candidates

6.Assembly constituency where more than one women candidate 21
7.Party-wise list of candidates
BSP 67
BJP 67
CPI 22
CPI (M) 04
INC 18
NCP 03
RLD 53
SP  51
Independents 207
Registered but unrecognized 247
Total 721
8.Largest Assembly Constituency Electorate wise
  28- Moradabad Nagar
9.Smallest Assembly Constituency Electorate wise
  20- Dhampur
10.Number and name of Assembly Constituencies where there is straight contest. Nil
11.Number of  EVMs to be used in the Election
   BU- 28040
   CU- 26990
12.Number of Polling Stations 23696

General Election to the Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh-violation of the provisions of Section 126A of RP Act, 51, and the Commission’s notification dated 27-01-17.

The Commission had notified on 27-01-17 the period during which conducting any exit poll and publishing or publicizing by means of print or electronic media or disseminating results in any other manner would be prohibited during the current elections, specifying the period between 7 AM on 04-02-17 and 5.30 PM on 08-03-17 .

Now, it has been brought to the notice of the Commission that the Dainik Jagran Newspaper has published result of exit polls conducted by a company by the name of Resource Development International (I) Pvt. Ltd. on the first phase of elections in UP, through their website. 

Therefore, the reported violation by the Resource Development International (I) Pvt. Ltd. and Dainik Jagran by conducting the exit poll and dissemination of results amount to offence under Sections 126A and 126B of RP Act, 1951 as well as offence under Section 188 of IPC. The offence also amounts to disobedience to Order duly promulgated by the Commission.

The Commission has decided to take stringent action against the perpetrators of this serious violation of the Provisions of Section 126A of R. P. Act, 1951 to uphold the law to ensure the smooth conduct of free and fair elections. Accordingly, the Commission has directed that the District Election Officers of each of the districts covered under the first phase of poll and Lucknow shall immediately file FIR against the Managing Director and/or such other authorities of RDI and Dainik Jagran including the Managing Editor/Editor in Chief/Editor/Chief Editor of the Newspaper under Section 188 of IPC read with Section 126A and 126B  of RP Act, 1951.

Under sub-section 3 of Section 126 A of R.P. Act, 1951, Offence under Section 126A is punishable by imprisonment for a term up to 2 years or with fine or both.  Section 126B provides that if the offence is committed by a company, every person who is in charge of and is responsible for conduct of the business of the company shall be deemed to be guilty of the offence and face punishment.

Commission while reiterating its directions, makes it clear that it will not hesitate to take stern legal action in the event of any violations of the above mentioned legal provisions.

Election Commission of India

New Delhi : 13th February ,2017

No comments

Powered by Blogger.