PSLV-C33 successfully launches India's Seventh Navigation Satellite IRNSS-1G

PSLV-C33 successfully launches

India's Seventh Navigation Satellite IRNSS-1G
In its thirty fifth flight (PSLV-C33), ISRO's Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle successfully launched the 1425 kg IRNSS-1G, the seventh satellite in the Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System (IRNSS) today afternoon from Satish Dhawan Space Centre SHAR, Sriharikota. This is the thirty fourth consecutively successful mission of PSLV and the thirteenth in its 'XL' configuration.

The Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi, heartily thanked and congratulated all the ISRO scientists and team ISRO for completing IRNSS constellation and dedicated IRNSS to the nation as ‘NavIC’ (Navigation Indian Constellation). He appreciated India’s space community for making the country proud through such achievements which have helped in improving the life of common man.

After PSLV-C33 lift-off at 1250 hrs (12:50 pm) IST from the First Launch Pad with the ignition of the first stage, the subsequent important flight events, namely, strap-on ignitions and separations, first stage separation, second stage ignition, heat-shield separation, second stage separation, third stage ignition and separation, fourth stage ignition and satellite injection, took place as planned. After a flight of 19 minutes 42 seconds, IRNSS-1G was injected into an elliptical orbit of 283 km X 20,718 km inclined at an angle of 17.867 degree to the equator (very close to the intended orbit) following which the satellite successfully separated from the PSLV fourth stage.

After separation, the solar panels of IRNSS-1G were deployed automatically. ISRO's Master Control Facility (MCF) at Hassan, Karnataka took over the control of the satellite. In the coming days, four orbit manoeuvres will be conducted from MCF to position the satellite in the Geostationary Orbit at 129.5 deg East longitude.

IRNSS-1G is the seventh of the seven satellites constituting the space segment of the Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System. IRNSS-1A, 1B, 1C, ID, IE and 1F, the first six satellites of the constellation, were successfully launched by PSLV on July 02, 2013, April 04, 2014, October 16, 2014, March 28, 2015, January 20, 2016 and March 10, 2016 respectively. All the six satellites are functioning satisfactorily from their designated orbital positions.

IRNSS is an independent regional navigation satellite system designed to provide position information in the Indian region and 1500 km around the Indian mainland. IRNSS provides two types of services, namely, Standard Positioning Services (SPS) - provided to all users and Restricted Services - (RS), provided to authorised users.

A number of ground facilities responsible for satellite ranging and monitoring, generation and transmission of navigation parameters, etc., have been established in eighteen locations across the country. Today’s successful launch of IRNSS-1G, the seventh and final member of IRNSS constellation, signifies the completion of the IRNSS constellation. 


Preparation of Space Policy
The Department of Space has policy guidelines approved by the Cabinet in terms of Remote Sensing Data Policy-2011 (RSDP-2011) and Satellite Communication Policy-1997 (SATCOM Policy-1997). RSDP-2011 contains modalities for managing and/or permitting the acquisition/dissemination of remote sensing data in support of developmental activities. SATCOM Policy-1997 was followed by a detailed norms and guidelines to address use of INSAT/GSAT system by private users, for managing INSAT/GSAT system, establishing Indian Satellite System by private entities.

Also, the Department of Space is currently engaged in preparation of National Space Act for India for supporting the overall growth of space activities, with enhanced level of private sector participation and offering more commercial opportunities. After consultations with internal experts and experts on space law, a draft version has been prepared. Currently, approval process for pre-legislative consultations on the draft Space Act is being pursued.

ISRO has been engaged in a few multilateral negotiation processes under various international and UN forums, in order to protect the interests of the nation in its pursuance of space activities. These multilateral negotiation processes include International Code of Conduct for Outer Space Activities (led by European Union), formulation of a set of guidelines for Long Term Sustainability of Outer Space Activities discussed under United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (UNCOPUOS).

Outer space research activities are carried out on cooperation basis with the space agencies of other countries. Department of Space is mandated for harnessing the benefits of space technology for national development.

This information was provided by the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Development of North-Eastern Region (DoNER), MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh in written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today. 


Launching of Satellite by ISRO
Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) plans to launch 22 satellites onboard Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle, PSLV-C34. These satellites include an earth observation satellite of India (weighing about 710 kg) as primary payload, two nano satellites developed by Indian students (weighing about 2.5 kg) and 19 satellites from four foreign countries viz. Canada (2 Nos., weighing 115 kg), Germany (3 Nos., weighing 155 kg), Indonesia (1 No., weighing 120 kg) & USA (13 Nos., weighing 195 kg) as co-passengers.

Swayam and Satyabamasat are the two nano-satellites developed by College of Engineering, Pune and Sathyabama University, Chennai respectively. Swayam satellite has a payload mass of 1 kg and Satyabamasat has a payload mass of 1.5 kg.

This information was provided by the Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Development of North-Eastern Region (DoNER), MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh in written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today. 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.