Shri Piyush Goyal visits Meja Thermal Power Project

Shri Piyush Goyal visits Meja Thermal Power Project 

Shri Piyush Goyal, Union Minister of State (IC) for Power, Coal, New and Renewable Energy, visited Meja Thermal Power Project (MUNPL-2x660 MW), Allahabad , Uttar Pradesh today. Shri Goyal was accompanied by Shri Keshaw Prasad Maurya MP (Phoolpur),  The dignitaries were welcomed by Shri S C Pandey, Director(Projects), NTPC, Shri Prabhat Kumar, CEO, Meja Urja Nigams and senior MUNPL officials.

 During his visit, Shri Goyal inspected the power plant and reviewed its activities and performance. During his visit he also inagurated a Community centre and told that more than 4000 people will be directly benefitted by the community centre . Addressing the media persons Shri Goyal stated that the Meja Project will also work to utilise sewage water for plant activities, he also assured  that Meja team for coal linkage from nearest coal mines,so the rate of electricity gradually decrese and it will benefit the people of Uttar Pradesh by reducing the per unit electricity charge project work for linkage of coal through nearest coal mines. He also said the Heart of the Power Plant is very impressive and he was particularly happy at the enthusiasm of the Team and the innovative work being developed for use in other Stations also. The dignitaries also planted saplings near the power plant.
Brief Features of the MUNPL :
Meja Urja Nigam (P) Ltd. – A Joint venture of NTPC Ltd & UPRVUNL
Stage I: 1320MW(2X660MW) – Super critical technology
Mega Power Project
Equity Sharing
NTPC (50%), UPRVUNL(50%)
Site Kohdar is 52 km from Allahabad district of Uttar Pradesh; covering land area of 2864 Hect.
Uttar Pradesh ,and Northern India
Coal Linkage
As on date, coal linkage from South Eastern coal field for 5.49 million MTPA
Water Source
44 Cusec from river Ganga (CWC clearance 17.11.2009.)
Power Evacuation
Through two associated 400 KV Double Circuit transmission system to Meja –Rewa Road and Meja –Bara by (UPPTCL)).
400 KV Double Circuit transmission system to Meja –Allahabad (PGCIL)


337 Villages Electrified Last Week ; 6816 Villages Electrified till date under DDUGJY 

337 villages have been electrified across the country during last week (from 14th to 20th March 2016) under Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojna (DDUGJY). Out of these electrified villages,  67 in Odisha, 49 in Jharkhand , 66 villages in Uttar Pradesh, 30 in Arunachal Pradesh , 41 in Bihar, 49 in Assam, 12 in Chhattisgarh, 9 in Madhya Pradesh and 11 in Rajasthan 1 each in Himachal Pradesh, Manipur  & J &K  . The progress of ongoing electrification process can be tracked on

An update on ongoing electrification process
In view of the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi’s address to nation, on Independence Day, Government of India has decided to electrify remaining 18,452 un-electrified villages within 1000 days i.e. by 01st May, 2018.  The project has been taken on mission mode and strategy for electrification consists of squeezing the implementation schedule to 12 months and also dividing village electrification process in 12 Stage milestones with defined timelines for monitoring.
During 2015-16, 6816 villages have been electrified till date. Out of remaining 11636 villages, 7976 villages are to be electrified through grid, 3205 villages are to be electrified through off- grid where grid solutions are out of reach due to geographical barriers and 455 villages are to be electrified by State Govt own. Total 1654 villages were electrified during April 2015 to 14th Aug 2015 and after taking initiative by Government of India for taking it on mission mode, 4839 additional villages have been electrified from 15th August 2015 to 20th March 2016.   In order to expedite the progress further, a close monitoring is being done through Gram Vidyut Abhiyanta (GVA) and various actions are also being taken on regular basis like reviewing the progress on monthly basis during the RPM meeting, sharing of list of villages which are at the stage of under energisation with the state Discom, identifying the villages where milestone progress are delayed.


ACC Appointment
The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the proposal for re-designation of Shri Chhabilendra Roul, IAS (PB:1985), Additional Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education, Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare as Additional Secretary, Department of Agricultural Research and Education, Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare & Secretary, Indian Council of Agricultural Research. 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.